Dammit, Flock!

Two days ago I finally got my MacBook. I imported stuff from an image I had of my iBook’s hard drive. I installed Flock.

Now look: almost all my del.icio.us favourites are dated August 11th. And I’m sure there’s no way to undo.

I’ve already been a bit squeamish about trusting Flock to sync favourites with del.icio.us. Now, I have even bigger doubts, if you know what I mean. How do I know I won’t wake up one morning and find all my del.icio.us bookmarks erased, because Flock had a hiccup?

technorati tags:, , , , , , , ,

About Stephanie Booth

Blogging since 2000, and still at it. Sailing, skiing, judo-ing. Geek with social skills. Freelance consultant, speaker, trainer, thinker. Social media without the hype.
This entry was posted in Flock. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dammit, Flock!

  1. Will Pate says:

    Stephanie, sorry to hear about your problem. I’ve forwarded this to our quality assurance team so you should hear from them soon.

  2. Hi Will — thanks for caring. I’ll keep you all updated.

  3. Patricia Bacon says:

    Stephanie,

    I apologize for taking so long to reply and the inconvenience that you are having. There is a way to restore your delicious’ timestamp is to contact Delicious at support@del.icio.us. Would you also answer me the following questions, please?

    1. What version of Flock and build_id are you running? You can type about: on the url and copy this information to me.
    2. Were the private favorites affected as well?
    3. Did you switch between accounts (ie. From one Delicious account to another Delicious account, or from Delicious to Shadows)?
    4. If yes in Q3, did you uncheck” Copy my favorites to the service I’m switching to” under Favorites Setup? By default, it is check-marked.
    5. Also, would you please send me two files: flock_favorites.rdf and bookmarks.html at patricia@flock.com? You can find them at (your home folder)>Library>Application Support>Flock. Your submitted information is confidential.

    Thank you for your patience and assistance. I am looking forward to hearing from you soon.

    Regards,

    Patricia

  4. Steph says:

    Hi Patricia — I’m getting back to you by e-mail right now. Thanks a lot for your help!

  5. Steph says:

    Patricia, I tried to e-mail you from my gmail account but the mail bounced. Relay access denied. Do you have another e-mail address I can try?

  6. Steph says:

    Del.icio.us managed to fix my timestamps — thanks a lot!

  7. Patricia Bacon says:

    Steph,

    Would you send it to my gmail at patriciabacon@gmail.com,please? I’m glad Del.icio.us would restore them for you.

    Thanks,

    Patricia

  8. Wow – that’s awesome customer service. Thanks for adding me to your Delicious sites. Chad

Leave a Reply

