DailyMotion Feedback

I like DailyMotion. I used it yesterday to put online a silly video I made while Robert Scoble was being podcasted by Marc-O. and David.

During the process, I bumped into a few problems:

  1. By default, the video plays when you arrive on the page. I’d like an option to switch that off. It’s hugely annoying if I’m visiting the video page repeatedly to edit the description or see if somebody has replied to my comment.
  2. The tag field has a limited character length, and I hit it.
  3. In the “Blog this” part, I’d like a plain stupid option which just gives me the HTML to insert in my blog. Some of us have control issues. Flickr does that for me, and I like it.
  4. An interface to provide feedback is missing. I like the way WordPress.com does it, for example. A little feedback box which allows me to send an instant feedback message without leaving the page I’m on.

Keep on the good work! I hope somebody at DailyMotion (the somebody, probably) gets my feedback.

technorati tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About Stephanie Booth

Blogging since 2000, and still at it. Sailing, skiing, judo-ing. Geek with social skills. Freelance consultant, speaker, trainer, thinker. Social media without the hype.
This entry was posted in Geek. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to DailyMotion Feedback

  1. Thanks for posting about Dailymotion I had not seen that tool yet!

  2. Pingback: Climb to the Stars (Stephanie Booth) » DailyMotion Problems

  3. Nadir says:

    Hi, I’m Nadir from Dailymotion,
    Here are the answers:
    1. This is a known issue, we’re working on it, where would you like to see the option? In your account preferences?
    2. Tags are here to synthetize information, that’s why the tag field isn’t so big.
    3. The blog this part is being improved right now, you’ll see changes soon.
    4. The feedback interface (since the beginning i think). It’s on the top left of the site.

    A dailymotion user told me about your comments, that’s why my answer wasn’t so fast.

    Regards

    Nadir

    Dailymotion Team

  4. Steph says:

    Hi Nadir! Thanks for dropping by.

    1. Yes, in my prefs.
    4. I’d call it “feedback” instead of “contact us”. I really did look, and just didn’t see it.

    I have an issue on my other blog which I raised here:

    https://steph.wordpress.com/2006/02/05/dailymotion-feedback/

    Has to do with embedding a video. Would be neat if you could help me out on that. Thanks in advance!

  5. davido says:

    be careful about the conditions :

    The User, as author of the Videos put on-line within the framework of the Service, authorises Dailymotion to:

    #non-exclusively commercially exploit the User’s Videos, for the entire duration of copyrights, as provided for in current or future law, over the whole world,

    # for the distribution right: marketing against a payment or for free, including the rental and the price of the Videos and of their adapting by any process and on any medium, known or unknown at the present time, and, whatsoever the destination, for any public, without limitation; also the right to retrocede to third parties, wholly or in part, under any form whatsoever, and in particular by assignment, licence or any type of contract, in any form, all or part of the rights assigned temporarily or permanently,

    # the right to retrocede to third parties, wholly or in part, under any form whatsoever, and in particular by assignment, licence or any type of contract, in any form, all or part of the rights assigned temporarily or permanently.

  6. Steph says:

    Ew, that looks ugly. I wonder if DailyMotion have an explanation for that?

Leave a Reply

