‘More of This Artist!” in iTunes

Here’s one feature I’d really like to see in iTunes: Party Shuffle, with the added option of saying “More of this artist” or “More of this playlist”.

For example, the other day, a Cat Stevens song came up in my playlist. I hadn’t heard one from him in ages! Now I feel like a few hearty helpings of Cat Stevens, but aside from creating a custom playlist by hand with the appropriate quantities of him and other artists, I have the choice between “only Cat Stevens” and “just as little Cat Stevens as before”. I want “gimme 50% Cat Stevens and 50% random library stuff”.

Does anybody see how this could be done, or do we have to wait until the iTunes people hear me and develop it?

technorati tags: , , , , , , ,

About Stephanie Booth

Blogging since 2000, and still at it. Sailing, skiing, judo-ing. Geek with social skills. Freelance consultant, speaker, trainer, thinker. Social media without the hype.
This entry was posted in Geek. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ‘More of This Artist!” in iTunes

  1. If you change the “smart-shuffle” in “playback” preferences then you can here more with the same artist and I think that applies to party-shuffle too.

  2. Steph says:

    Thanks for pointing me to that setting… but I’m afraid it doesn’t do what I’m looking for!

  3. Skit says:

    Was thinking the same thing in my current hunt for my MP3 jukebox player of choice. I’d just be happy with being able to click the artist name and have it show a list of the songs in my Library… But alas it takes me to the iTunes store *sigh*

Leave a Reply

